LUCA School of Arts - campus Lemmens
Lemmensberg 3
3000 Leuven
Concert hall

Cluster Philharmonic: Prokofiev - De Falla - Ravel


Cluster Philharmonic is a symphonic orchestra founded from Cluster, the student association of LUCA School Of Arts - Campus Lemmens. The orchestra is put together after the exams as the final act of the academic year, and consists mainly of students from the Lemmens itself, supplemented by conservatory students and other talented musicians from outside the campus. This year, Cluster Philharmonic with large orchestra will perform a selection from the colourful 20th-century ballet repertoire.


  • Prokofiev - Romeo & Julia Suite
  • De Falla - El Sombrero De Tres Picos Suite No. 2
  • Ravel - Bolero

Michel Tilkin, conductor

The suites from Sergei Prokofiev's "Romeo and Juliet" are a wonderful collection of highlights from the famous ballet. Each movement of these suites takes the listener into the dramatic and emotional world of Shakespeare's love story, with a mix of lively dances, lyrical melodies and powerful themes. With their expressive power, the suites from "Romeo and Juliet" remain a timeless masterpiece that touches the heart as well as the imagination.

Suite No. 2 from Manuel de Falla's ballet "El Sombrero De Tres Picos" takes you on a musical journey through vibrant Spanish traditions. It contains various dances and melodies that reflect the rich culture of Spain. This is depicted in the parts "Dance Of The Neighbors", "Miller's Dance" and "Final Dance", each of which has its own flair. The suite evokes a sense of warmth and tradition, inviting you to listen to the rhythmic and melodic beauty of Spanish music. 

Maurice Ravel's Bolero is a remarkable composition known for its repetitive rhythm and gradual build-up. It begins quietly, with a simple rhythm on the snare drum, and slowly intensifies as more instruments join the melody. The repetitive pattern of the music has a mesmerising effect that takes listeners on an immersive journey through the composition.

This concert is free, but registration is requiered.